Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Young Adult

Plot: Anna’s father has decided to ship her off to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. At first, Anna is upset and alone. She makes friends with her roommate and her roommate’s small group of friends, including a beautiful boy named Étienne St. Clair. Étienne and Anna become close over the course of the first semester, but there’s one thing standing in Anna’s way– Étienne’s girlfriend. As Anna and Étienne become closer, tension is high and Anna finds herself wondering if it’s all for nothing.

Pros:

  • It was cute
  • Étienne was always trying to do the right thing, even when he didn’t want to
  • I want to go to Paris
  • I actually learned a lot about Paris from this book because my history classes all sucked
  • I laughed out loud so many times
  • Anna eventually learned french
  • I loved the friendship that Étienne and Anna had
  • The book of poetry okay

Cons:

  • The only cons I have are spoilers so I’m not posting them

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”
  • “The more you know who you are, and what you want, the less you let things upset you.”
  • “I wish friends held hands more often, like the children I see on the streets sometimes. I’m not sure why we have to grow up and get embarrassed about it.”
  • “French name, English accent, American school. Anna confused.”
  • “Girl scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.”

My Thoughts: It took me a while to actually start reading this book (the only reason I went back to it in the end was because I was querying to Stephanie Perkins’ agent…), but I’m glad that I did. I loved the way Anna and Étienne’s friendship transformed, and I love that it was realistic– a girl likes a boy, boy is unavailable, girl gives up, boy is now interested– that actually happens and I liked it. This book was maybe just a little “BUT WHY DOESN’T HE LIKE ME” for my taste, but it wasn’t so in your face that I had to stop reading it like some books have been. Like I said, it was cute. I enjoyed it. I may eventually get around to reading the other two books, but that’s for another post.

Links:

Goodreads
Amazon
B&N
Book Depository
Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

