Book Review: Something Like the Desert by Kristen Hedges

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): Non-fiction; short stories

Plot: Something Like the Desert is a collection of short stories about the people who have affected Kristen Hedges’ life.

Pros:

  • The raw honesty
  • I know Kristen, and I feel like getting this insight into the parts of her life that I don’t know made her that much more special to me
  • It’s self-published
  • The stories are short enough to hold my attention but have enough detail to make me want more
  • They’re all related, in a way, because of their relation to Kristen

Cons:

  • None, really

Favorite Quotes: 

  • [I will fill this part in later]

My Thoughts: When Kristen announced on her blog (facebook, maybe?) that she was publishing a book, I squealed with delight. Everything that this girl writes is honest and witty and thoughtful. An entire book full of her writing? Yes please. When my copy finally arrived in the mail, I was thrilled. I sat down and read it in one sitting. I laughed, I cried, I wanted to crawl into the pages and swallow her words whole. In all honesty, it’s hard for me, as a writer, to express how I feel about the work of other writers. I fear offending the writer if I have negative things to say, that I will hurt feelings; but perhaps a greater fear is that my praise for a great book will not do the book justice. In regards to Something Like the Desert, my fear is the latter. Put short, this book moved me. The honesty, the complete raw nakedness of her words, was intimidating and beautiful, and there were a few moments that brought tears to my eyes. Each story left me both fulfilled and wanting more, more, more. This collection of short stories is amazing and honest, and I’m very glad that I read it.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Kristen Hedges

One thought on “Book Review: Something Like the Desert by Kristen Hedges

Leave a Reply

