ARC Review: Another Day by David Levithan (Every Day #2)

I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Note: This review may contain spoilers from Every Day by David Levithan, so if you have not read that book, do not read past the synopsis.

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Young Adult

Plot (from Goodreads):

This book is Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

Pros:

  • Alternate points of view are awesome
  • Seeing more than just A’s opinion of Justin was an important part of the story
  • I can relate to Rhiannon a little better; if not in her life exactly, then the little things she says or does
  • Understanding the “day after” haze a little better
  • We’re shown how Rhiannon and Alexander react when they wake up in the morning

Cons:

  • I didn’t really like Rhiannon. She was all over the place
  • The last page; no. just. no
  • She can’t just accept that A is genderfluid
  • She can’t just accept Vic’s preferred gender
  • It was sort of boring, reading the same story twice; not enough variation to hold my attention

My Thoughts: This book was only okay. I don’t feel right giving it three stars because I feel like it deserves more, but four stars is too many and I’m not a half-star reviewer. So I’m giving it four stars anyway. Every Day was phenomenal on its own. It didn’t need a companion. It didn’t need a sequel. But we got one. It was okay. I definitely thought that there would be more to the story than what we’d read in Every Day, but Rhiannon told A everything, so very little was left to the imagination to begin with. Rhiannon wasn’t super likeable, but I didn’t hate her either. She was just sort of there to tel the story. And how her story ended really pissed me off. I finished Every Day and then immediately jumped into Another Day, so this could have played a part in how I feel about this book. I would still recommend this book to people who have read Every Day, because alternate points of view are great.

[I also realize that this review is going up before the review for Every Day, but I wanted to get this typed out and posted to NetGalley while it was still fresh in my mind]

Links:
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

