Birth Story

10151348_10207772894463593_563685961126077829_n

Kaylee Marie McBrian // August 17, 2015; 11:33pm // 7lbs 9oz // 19.5 inches

So, I finally got around to typing up my birth story. The times may be a bit off because you lose track of time when you’re stuck in a hospital, but I’ll try.

I woke up around 1am on Monday starving. I remember dreaming about food, and when I woke up, I was hungry and in the middle of a contraction. I rolled over to try to go back to sleep and noticed that my shorts were soaked. I thought I had wet myself or something, but when I got up, I felt a small trickle and went “Huh, maybe my water broke”. It wasn’t a huge gush or anything like on tv, so I just went to the bathroom, cleaned myself up, changed, and went back to bed. But then I started having contractions about 2 minutes apart, with fluid still leaking just the tiniest bit with every one. I timed them from 1:30 am until 2:15 ish, and then woke Brent up and told him we needed to go to the hospital. My contractions were weak, but my doctor told me she didn’t want me laboring at home if my water broke. So we went.

When we got to the hospital and they got me into a room, the nurse hooked me up to the monitor and I was having pretty steady contractions, but I wasn’t dilated. She swabbed to make sure my water had broke and that I hadn’t just wet myself, and then she left Brent and I to sleep for a few hours (I didn’t really sleep, hospitals freak me out). Around the same time that the nurses changed shifts, my doctor came by and told me that I could walk around 45 minutes out of every hour, so I did that basically all day.

I got checked again in the late afternoon and I was about 4cm. I noticed that I could feel my contractions stronger and lower when I was sitting in a butterfly (I think is what it’s called?) position, so I did that for a few hours whenever I was hooked up. Eventually my contractions were becoming painful enough that I started groaning and making noise through them. Around 7 or 8pm I think, I got checked again and I was only 5cm and the nurse noticed my water hadn’t completely broken. So the on call doctor who was on the floor came in and broke it the rest of the way.

Until that point, I was calling my contractions 6 or 7 on the pain scale, with a few 8s thrown in. But the second he broke my water, it was like someone had turned up the pain dial. If I cold go back and fix the scale, those earlier contractions were more like 3s compared to the 10s I was feeling after. It got to the point where I thought my body was going to tear in half and I screamed “I CAN’T DO THIS! I CAN’T DO THIS ANY MORE!” After 5 or 6 of those contractions, I told Brent I wanted an epidural. I could feel myself tensing up, and I knew that labor would be longer and harder if I kept it up. The pain level was too high and I couldn’t deal.

So I paged the nurse, and she came in and I told her I wanted an epidural. A couple more contractions went by, with me screaming through them, and then I got the epidural put in. By the time they got it in, my pain was so intense that he gave me a bit more than necessary (not enough to be worried), but I could still feel the tightening and pressure of the contractions.

A short bit later, my doctor came in and checked me, and told me that with the next sets of contractions, I was going to push. I had four contractions and six pushes (Brent didn’t tell me until We had left, but Kaylee’s heart stopped during one of the down times, and her head turned dark purple, so she had me push even though I wasn’t contracting), and she was out. They set her on my chest and it was the greatest feeling. They kept fussing over her and trying to clean her up and I just wouldn’t let go of her.

The second I saw her, I instantly fell in love and I knew that our family was complete. Within a minute, she was latched and trying to eat, and I let out a sigh of relief that it was finally over.

Leave a Reply

