Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Adult Fiction; Mystery; Thriller

Plot: Rachel takes the same train into the city every single day. She imagines the lives of the people in the houses she passes, pretending she knows them and making up elaborate stories in her mind. However, she becomes more invested than ever when she sees something she was not meant to see. Not minding her own business could be very useful for this possible crime– or very dangerous for her.

Pros:

  • This book really kept me guessing.
  • I love alternating points of view.
  • It was a page turner. I wanted to know more, more, more!
  • Each voice was distinct, and each story weaving into all of the others was perfect.
  • I understand Rachel’s “fake it til you make it” perspective in the beginning, even if she’s not really putting forth any effort to better herself.

Cons:

  • The characters were all unlikable. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I just didn’t really like the characters.
  • It ended really abruptly.

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “I have lost control over everything, even the places in my head.”
  • “There’s nothing so painful, so corrosive, as suspicion.”
  • “I am not the girl I used to be. I am no longer desirable, I’m off-putting in some way. It’s not just that I’ve put on weight, or that my face is puffy from the drinking and the lack of sleep; it’s as if people can see the damage written all over me, can see it in my face, the way I hold myself, the way I move.” I feel this, okay.
  • “I’m playing at real life instead of actually living it.”

My Thoughts: This book was the first book I’ve bought new upon release in a very long time. I got on the hold list at the library, saw that I was in position 57 of 200+, and decided that there was no way I was waiting that long for a book I’d had my eye on for a while. So I bought it. And I was not disappointed. I don’t like comparing books to other books, especially wildly popular authors to a debut author, but this book really reminded me of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. In all the best ways. Apparently Hollywood agrees, because they’re making The Girl on the Train into a movie! Overall, this book was really good. It had some lulls, and the characters kind of suck, but it was a page-turner and left just enough mystery to keep me going. I Gillian Flynn-ish reads are your thing, definitely pick this book up!

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Paula Hawkins

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

