ARC Review: Everything, Everything by by Nicola Yoon

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): Young Adult; Contemporary

Plot: [From Goodreads] My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This review may contain spoilers. If you have not read this book, please do not read beyond this point!

Pros:

  • Everything, everything.
  • Seriously.
  • This book was so good.
  • Like really.
  • This book is everything.
  • From the story to the formatting to the characters.
  • So good.
  • Also: that plot twist!

Cons:

  • I hate Madeline’s mother. And the fact that Madeline’s entire childhood was skipped because of her mother’s paranoid delusional tendencies.

Favorite Quotes: 

  • Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”
  • “My guilt is an ocean for me to drown in.”
  • “If my life were a book and you read it backward, nothing would change. Today is the same as yesterday. Tomorrow will be the same as today.”
  • “You can do every goddamn thing right, and your life can still turn to shit.”
  • “Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything.”

My Thoughts: This book was so great! I didn’t read the description before requesting to read it, so I had no idea what to expect. But I was not disappointed! This wasn’t your typical fluffy YA book. Oliver and Madeline’s relationship grew over the internet, and then blossomed in person. And I did not see the plot twist coming. Although in hindsight, it’s kind of obvious. But until I knew, I had no idea. I’m glad that Madeline got out of the house, and I’m glad that she made it back to Oliver. All around, this was just a really great book, especially a debut novel, and I can’t wait to see what else Yoon has in store for us!

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Nicola Yoon

One thought on “ARC Review: Everything, Everything by by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

