Book Review: Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2) and Perfect (Pretty Little Liars #3) by Sara Shepard

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Young Adult Fiction; Mystery

Plot: [From Goodreads] Flawless– Spencer stole her sister’s boyfriend. Aria is brokenhearted over her English teacher. Emily likes her new friend Maya . . . as much more than a friend. Hanna’s obsession with looking flawless is making her sick. And their most horrible secret yet is so scandalous that the truth would ruin them forever. And why shouldn’t I tell? They deserve to lose it all. With every crumpled note, wicked IM, and vindictive text message I send, I’ll be taking these pretty little liars down. Trust me, I’ve got enough dirt to bury them alive.

Perfect— In a town where gossip thrives like the ivy that clings to its mansions, where mysteries lie behind manicured hedges and skeletons hide in every walk-in closet, four perfect-looking girls aren’t nearly as perfect as they seem. Three years ago, Spencer, Aria, Emily, Hanna, and their best friend Alison were the girls at Rosewood Day School. They clicked through the halls in their Miu Miu flats, tanned in their matching Pucci bikinis, and laughed behind their freshly manicured fingernails. They were the girls everyone loved but secretly hated—especially Alison. So when Alison mysteriously vanished one night, Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna’s grief was tinged with . . . relief. And when Alison’s body was later discovered in her own backyard, the girls were forced to unearth some ugly memories of their old friend, too. Could there be more to Alison’s death than anyone realizes? Now someone named A, someone who seems to know everything, is pointing the finger at one of them for Ali’s murder. As their secrets get darker and their scandals turn deadly, A is poised to ruin their perfect little lives forever.

Pros:

  • Easy read.
  • It’s different from the show. Don’t get me wrong, I love the show. But the differences in the books are kind of refreshing.
  • Even though I kind of knew what was happening (from the show), I still kept reading to find out.
  • I love each of the characters’ book personalities so much more.
  • Reliving the show through reading is actually 10 times better.

Cons:

  • I feel like a lot of backtracking and filling in is being done. If someone is reading the second or third book in a series, they don’t really need to be filled in that much.

My Thoughts: These books are fun. I know they’re probably not supposed to be fun. But they are. I like that there are huge similarities to the show, but there are also some big differences. And I like that the show diversified the cast a little bit. I probably won’t review any more of these until I finish the entire series, just because it’s a lot of filling in and it’s a lot of the same stuff. But I really enjoy these books, even if I’ve already seen what happens for the most part!

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Sara Shepard

Leave a Reply

