Book Review: The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Horror; thriller; psychological horror

Plot: Nine-year-old Tricia McFarland is sick of hearing her mother and brother fight while they are hiking, and wanders off to pee in the woods. However, she wanders too far and soon she is lost deep in the forest, unable to find her way back to the simple hiking path. Using survival skills taught to her by her parents, she keeps herself alive as she wanders through the woods looking for a way out, with her walkman radio as her only connection to civilization. To keep herself company, Tricia imagines that her favorite baseball player, Tom Gordon, is walking with her and encouraging her to press on when things go from bad to worse and she begins to be stalked by some unknown thing.

Pros:

  • It was an interesting read.
  • I picked it up for the baseball, and I stayed for the captivating story told by this nine-year-old girl who is lost in the woods.
  • Baseball? Yes. Horror? Yes. Both (kind of)? Nae gusta.
  • Stephen King writes a nine-year-old point of view so, so well.
  • Stephen King in general.

Cons:

  • The reveal of the thing.
  • I feel like it ended sort of abruptly.

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “The world had teeth and it could bite you with them anytime it wanted.”
  • “The world is a worst case scenario and I’m afraid that all you sense is true”
  • “I’ve got icewater in my veins and I hope you freeze on the first bite. Come on, you busher! Batter-fucking-up!”

My Thoughts: Someone recommended this book because I like horror and I like baseball and this book sort of has both. It wasn’t what I expected (I honestly don’t know what I expected, really), but it was still really great. Tricia was so brave and smart as she trekked through those woods alone, and I loved her quick whit and distraction methods. As I mentioned above, I feel like it sort of ended abruptly, but King’s books do that sometimes. I wish the reveal of the thing had been a bit more of a WHAT OMG NO WAY moment, but what seems like a big scary monster to a little girl is not always so for an adult. Overall, this was a great quick read and I’m glad I picked it up.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Stephen King

Leave a Reply

