Daily Bookish Challenges | Day Nine: Sunday, October 25

Prompt: What are your top five favourite young adult books?

This is hard, I’ve been on a YA kick for the past couple of years. I’ll try. This will be in no particular order. Also this list is so stereotypical and I’m sorry.

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.
71h2sjik5al-_sl1380_
Also, my favorite cover for this book.

I’m really surprised that I don’t have a review for this book anywhere. I read it before I started reviewing, but I figured I would have written one when I re-read it last year. Guess not. So, where do I start with this book? It’s a book about a girl who loves books. She learns the power of words, she’s amazed by books, and she steal them because they are that important to her. That is what made me like this book at first, but when I re-read it the first time (first of many), it was because it is so beautifully written, so quote-able, so unique. There is so much that I could say about this books, but my words will never do it justice.

2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

download (9)
Okay but how lovely is this cover?

I actually read this book because like four people recommended it, and for a while I was reading anything that anyone recommended to me and then reviewing them and tagging them in the review and… yeah, it’s a long, “I have so many followers on tumblr, I’ll promote you!” story. Anyway.This book was not what I expected. I didn’t expect much because I read the vaguest, most spoiler-free reviews I could find and then went for it. What I thought was your typical guy-best-friends adventure story turned out to be this incredible book about friendship and love and taking risks. It really is just so great. Here is my review, but there are spoilers at the end.

3. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

6604794
Heart eyes. All of them.

There is so much that I love about this book. Lennie is a bookworm and a musician. It takes place in a small town in Northern California that reminds me so much of my hometown. It was so beautifully written, and such a great love story buried within a tougher issue (grief over the death of a sibling). Here is my review, with some slight spoilers.

4. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I love this cover. I actually bought one in B&W and one in color so I could have both.
I love this cover. I actually bought one in B&W and one in color so I could have both.

Where do start with this book? The idea of a “suicide note” in the form of a “here, pass this on to the next person” cassette tape is pretty unique, and that much more disturbingly personal. This book gave me my first book hangover in a long time. It was so, so good. Read my review here.

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green

I like the animated version of this cover but I can't find it.
I like the animated version of this cover but I can’t find it.

This is the only John Green book that matters. The only one. Don’t argue with me.

[Click here to view the original post from Trees of Reverie!]

Leave a Reply

