Book Review: The Never Never trilogy by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

My Rating: ★★★★☆

This is a review for the series as a whole, rather than doing a single review for each novella.

Genre(s): New adult; young adult; contemporary

Plot: [From Goodreads] Charlie and Silas have been best friends since they were babies. Then they became more than that. And then they woke up and became total strangers. As Silas and Charlie set out to figure out why they can’t remember themselves or each other, secrets are uncovered, and they must confront their past head on if they have any hope for their future.

Pros:

  • It was the most “different kind of love story” I think I’ve ever read
  • I really had no idea what was going on half the time and I liked it
  • It really makes you think “What if I woke up one day and had no idea who I was?”
  • They became better people because of this
  • The happy ending

Cons:

  • The epilogue at the end of book three had me like ????
  • I kept getting frustrated at how distracted Silas kept getting
  • I kept getting frustrated because I just wanted everyone to figure it out

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “She’s lost in thought. I’m lost in her.”
  • “She’s familiar. My only familiar thing in a world of inconsistency and confusion.”
  • “If it were possible to hear a smile, hers would be a love song.”
  • “You make normal love hard. You make me psycho-love you.”
  • “Adults like to pretend that our feelings aren’t as big and important as theirs—that we’re too young to really know what we want. But I think what we want is similar to what they want. We want to find someone who believes in us. Who will take our side and make us feel less lonely.”

My Thoughts: These books were great. After part one, I was like “meh… not sure if I like this…” and then I read parts two and three back to back in just a couple of hours. I got sucked in. I had to know what happened. I had to know if they got their memories back. I had to know why they fell apart in the first place. This was a very unique story, written by two very talented authors. Definitely worth the read, but I would recommend making sure you have all three books at once, because you aren’t going to want to put them down.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

