Book Review: You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Nonfiction; Autobiography; Memoir

Plot: Internet sensation and my celebrity crush Felicia Day writes about her odd childhood, where she grew up in an unconventional homeschool environment, and her awkward adulthood, which catapulted her into internet fame.

Pros:

  • I love Felicia Day. Love, love, love her. So obviously, the fact that she wrote a book is a pro in itself.
  • She’s not afraid to talk about how painfully awkward she is.
  • This book was hilarious.
  • She’s an introvert.
  • I liked that I could hear her voice narrating the entire book.

Cons:

  • She doesn’t seem pro-breastfeeding.
  • It was nonfiction and that’s not really something I’m into. But that’s just me, that’s not the book’s fault.

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “It’s hard being weird. No—it’s hard living in a culture that makes it hard.”
  • “The internet is amazing because it connects us with one another. But it’s also horrific because . . . it connects us with one another.”
  • “When we graduate from childhood into adulthood, we’re thrown into this confusing, Cthulhu-like miasma of life, filled with social and career problems, all with branching choices and no correct answers.”
  • “Nobody should feel lonely or embarrassed about liking something. Except for illegal sex picture stuff. And murder and dogfighting…”
  • “I was trained to get an A in life from everyone, so I never learned how to take care of myself even if I had a right to.”
  • “Because if you can’t be your own weird self on the internet, where can you be? And what would be the point?”

My Thoughts: This book was funny. Even for a person who doesn’t really like nonfiction, it was easily readable and entirely relatable. I love Felicia so much. This book was really comforting. I think it’s a good read if nonfiction, funny books are your thing.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Felicia Day

2 thoughts on “Book Review: You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

  1. I enjoyed this book too (I’ve loved Felicia Day since The Guild first started). “It’s hard being weird. No—it’s hard living in a culture that makes it hard.” – that has to be the best line in the book.

    1. Yes! That was probably my favorite line too. I loved her ever since I discovered The Guild (I think when it was added to Netflix?), but this book make me appreciate her so much more.

Leave a Reply

