Book Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover — **mildly spoiler-ish, proceed with caution**

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): New adult; romance; contemporary

Plot: [From Goodreads] Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Warning: From this section forward, there are mild spoilers. If you want to go into November 9 totally blind, do not read any further.

Pros:

  • Colleen Hoover
  • That plot twist
  • Ben is a writer
  • Miles and Tate are in this book! And Ian! Colleen’s books exist in the same universe.
  • It was breathtakingly beautiful
  • Such a positive message came from this book– love yourself
  • The buildup was fantastic; with each passing November 9, I was like, “Okay where is she taking this next?
  • I felt so many emotions while reading this
  • I love the advice Fallon’s mom gives her about not falling in love until she is 23
  • Fallon’s love of books
  • Booksting

Cons:

  • There weren’t any…?
  • I think maybe Fallon’s dad kind of sucked?

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “You can’t leave yet. I’m not finished falling in love with you.”
  • “You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”
  • “If we’re going to kiss, it has to be book-worthy.”
  • “Loving someone means accepting all the things and people that person loves, too.”
  • “We don’t get to choose our parents, and parents don’t get to choose their children. But we do get to choose how hard we’re willing to work in order to make the best of what we’re given.”

My Thoughts: In true Colleen Hoover fashion, this book blew me away. I know I probably seem a little bias when I review CoHo because she’s my absolute favorite author, but her books are just so fantastic! This book had me from start to finish. I was totally immersed, lost in the world of Fallon and Ben and their passing November 9’s. There were so many emotions in this book that I had to take a step back a few times because I was feeling it too hard and taking it in so quickly that I was driving myself insane. I love that Miles and Tate are in this book briefly. I love that through something so devastating and life changing, Fallon learns to love herself, and eventually learns to love Ben too. I love that Fallon’s mom gives such great advice. I. Love. This. Book.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover

2 thoughts on “Book Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover — **mildly spoiler-ish, proceed with caution**

Leave a Reply

