Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): New Adult; Contemporary

Plot: [From Goodreads] Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope. Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope. Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Pros:

  • Will Cooper
  • Slam poetry
  • Layken really being there for her mom
  • Carving pumpkins
  • Basagna
  • The Avett Brothers are a really great band and I’m glad this book helped me discover them
  • Eddie and Gavin both as a couple and as individuals
  • Family is so important, and Lake realizes this at what I think is the perfect time
  • Lake’s love for her brother
  • Layken’s mother gives really great advice (I sense a pattern, CoHo)
  • The surprise for Eddie

Cons:

  • This book really made me miss my mom

Favorite Quotes: 

  • “Don’t take life too seriously. Punch it in the face when it needs a good hit. Laugh at it.”
  • “Question everything. Your love, your religion, your passion. If you don’t have questions, you’ll never find answers.”
  • “Life happens. Shit happens. And it happens a lot. To a lot of people.”
  • “Absolutely. Regret is counterproductive. It’s looking back on a past that you can’t change. Questioning things as they occur can prevent regret in the future. I questioned a lot about my relationship with your father. People make spontaneous decisions based off of their hearts all the time. There’s so much more to relationships than just love.”
  • “Tonight, Let’s just carve pumpkins.”

My Thoughts: When I first started reading Colleen Hoover, I immediately went to the library to see which of her books they had available. They only had Slammed and Point of Retreat. I totally judged these two books by their covers and decided that I didn’t really want to read them because they didn’t look interesting. Boy was I wrong. This book was really something else. Something about the way that their feelings are conveyed through slam just makes it that more real. The feels in this book pack a punch straight to your gut, and they just keep coming. I won’t spoil this book, but by the end, I was a mess. All the feels. For Lake, for Will, for the boys. I am so glad that I gave this book a try, because it really opened up an entirely new perspective of slam for me. And it made me call my mom.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

