Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover — **Contains Spoilers**

Note: I’m almost positive I’ve reviewed this somewhere before, but I can’t seem to locate the review… This was a re-read, and I will continue to re-read and cry over this book because it’s amazing.

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): New Adult; Contemporary

Plot: [From Goodreads] When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her. Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future. They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all. Hearts get infiltrated. Promises get broken. Rules get shattered. Love gets ugly.

****

There are spoilers beyond this point. Do not read any further if you do not want spoilers.

****

Pros:

  • I have the hugest lady boner for Miles fricking Archer
  • The way it went back and forth between Miles’ past and Tate’s present
  • Thanksgiving
  • Cap
  • The layout of Miles’ chapters was really cool
  • Colleen seems to always have such unique characters
  • The feels
  • No lag; this book pulled itself right along and dragged me sobbing behind it
  • Even though this book is literally about a girl hooking up with a guy and the inevitable consequences, the sex scenes were not as bad as I thought they would be
  • This book is even better the second time
  • Miles’ closure with Rachel
  • The proposal
  • Naming their baby after Cap

Cons:

  • Nothing. This book is actually flawless.
  • Okay maybe Tate kind of bothered me

Favorite Quotes: 

I would normally list quotes here, but I love this entire book and copying and pasting it in its entirety into a review is plagiarism.

My Thoughts: This was my first Colleen Hoover book. I saw the cover and went, “Huh. I like the cover. Maybe I’ll get it when it comes out.” And I am so glad I did. Books with sex are generally books I avoid, but this book is so much more than that. Yes, it’s about two people who meet and agree to have meaningless sex. But what happens because of that is so amazing. Miles is such a great character. He has such a horrible past, and even though he lets his past control his future, you can always tell that there is part of him that is resisting. Tate kind of bothered me at first. She just kept going back to this guy who kept making it clear that he only wanted to have sex with her. But those little things, the little moments,  gave her hope. Ugh. This book was great from start to finish, and was somehow even better the second time around.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover — **Contains Spoilers**

Leave a Reply

