Book Review: Asylum (Asylum #1) by Madeleine Roux

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Young adult; thriller

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, New Hampshire College Prep is more than a summer program—it’s a lifeline. An outcast at his high school, Dan is excited to finally make some friends in his last summer before college. But when he arrives at the program, Dan learns that his dorm for the summer used to be a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane. As Dan and his new friends, Abby and Jordan, explore the hidden recesses of their creepy summer home, they soon discover it’s no coincidence that the three of them ended up here. Because the asylum holds the key to a terrifying past. And there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Pros:

  • The photos accompanied the plot so well.
  • This book was creepy. Like flat out “wtf is happening” creepy.
  • I really liked Abby. Dan seems like kind of a square and Abby is a great counterpart.
  • When things start falling into place, they really fall into place.
  • I judged a book by the cover and I was totally right.
  • Dan’s mental illness wasn’t overshadowed, but it also wasn’t exactly the focal point.
  • I want mooooore.
  • This book kind of reminded me of Bioshock. Not completely, but the subtle hints about being a genius and experimenting with cures and such.
  • The Lucy side story.
  • Really, how everything tied together.

Cons:

  • I just really wanted a little more… closure I guess? But there are more books in the series so I guess this is okay.

Quotes:

  • “No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness.”
  • “As much as he liked the idea of having best friends with whom he could share anything, it was like all he knew how to be was alone, apart.”
  • “The cursor changed to the spinning wheel of sadness.”
  • “They are walking the line between genius and insanity.”
  • “Insanity is relative. It depends on who has who locked in what cage.”

My Thoughts: Man. I really enjoyed this book. The only reason I gave this book four stars instead of five is because I probably will not read it again (since there are plenty of books and companions in the series to keep me busy). This book was just the right amount of creepy to keep me interested, but not so creepy that it seemed overdone and I lost interest. I couldn’t put it down! Sidenote: I really want to know what the director (I think? I don’t have the book in front of me) has to do with all of this. She’s creepy. Can’t wait to read the rest!

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Madeleine Roux

Leave a Reply

