Book Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1) by Jenny Han

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Genre(s): Young Adult Fiction

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

Pros:

  • The imagery was great
  • I really liked the balance between Susannah and Belly’s mom
  • I felt very relaxed she she described the ocean and stuff
  • I would love a summer house like this, and this book really made that even more true
  • I liked that it bounced back and forth between past summers and the current summer
  • I liked Cam. Cam was good. Cam was nice. Cam was not Conrad or Jeremiah.

Cons:

  • It draaaagged
  • I couldn’t stand Belly and her stupid love triangle that she had going on with the boys
  • Wtf kind of nickname is Belly anyway
  • It was predictable. I knew what was up with Susannah basically the second that Belly said she didn’t meet them outside, and then again when she talked about Susannah being tired a lot
  • Belly is really super immature– sticking her tongue out at everyone, doing the “mine, mine, mine” thing, picking fights with her brother
  • If the boys are so mean to her, why can’t she just go make friends?
  • I hate that when she DOES make a friend, it’s only to prove a point
  • She complains about her mom so. fricking. much.
  • Did the end say she ended up with Conrad?  What.

Quotes:

  • “It’s the imperfections that make things beautiful”
  • “If and when I go off slow dancing in the ever after, I don’t want to look like I’ve been stuck in a hospital room my whole life. I at least want to be tan.”
  • “I wondered if it was possible to take someone’s pain away with a kiss. Because that was what i wanted to do, take all of his sadness and pour it out of him, comfort him, make the boy i knew come back.”
  • “And in the end, he would become a memory, pressed in my heart like a leaf in my book.”
  • “Even paradise can be suffocating”

My Thoughts: No. Just… no. This book was okay. But only okay. I was 15 and 16 years old once. I get it. Crushes are hard. I had a crush on the same boy for basically my whole life, and when anyone else had him, I turned into this crazy hormonal weirdo and constantly did things to make him jealous. So I get it. I get the whole Cam thing. But ugh, just the rest of the book. Belly (the name makes me shudder and think of that girl from Little Miss Sunshine) drives me insane. She seems very entitled and stuck up, and she can’t make up her mind. She sits here and talks about how she loves having Susannah to talk to, when her own mom is right there. She bounces back and forth between the brothers (and Cam?) in the most annoying love triangle/square ever, and she is overall just super whiny. I had heard a lot about this book from various YA blogger friends, but this book just didn’t do it for me. I may eventually read the rest of the series just for the sake of reading a complete series, and I hope the others are better.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

