ARC Review: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena **CONTAINS SPOILERS**

I received an early access galley of this book from both NetGalley and First To Read in exchange for an honest review. This book’s scheduled release date is August 26, 2016.

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): Thriller; suspense

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] Anne and Marco Conti seem to have it all—a loving relationship, a wonderful home, and their beautiful baby, Cora. But one night when they are at a dinner party next door, a terrible crime is committed. Suspicion immediately focuses on the parents. But the truth is a much more complicated story. Inside the curtained house, an unsettling account of what actually happened unfolds. Detective Rasbach knows that the panicked couple is hiding something. Both Anne and Marco  soon discover that the other is keeping secrets, secrets they’ve kept for years.  What follows is the nerve-racking unraveling of a family—a chilling tale of  deception, duplicity, and unfaithfulness that will keep you breathless until the final shocking twist.

Note: There are spoilers after this point. If you do not wish to have this book spoiled for you, do not read this review!

Pros:

  • I couldn’t put this book down
  • It wasn’t told from a first-person point of view so it was impossible to get inside anyone’s head
  • It kept me guessing until literally the last page
  • Anne got Cora back in the end, alive and well
  • Richard got what was coming to him
  • Seriously, all of the plot twists
  • It approached PPD and disassociative disorder in a realistic, factual manner
  • So much more, seriously this book was amazing

Cons:

  • I’m a huge breastfeeding advocate, and Shari Lapena did not approach the subject well
  • I want to know where Cynthia’s husband actually was in all of this
  • Why the fk would you hire a babysitter who regularly falls asleep on the job?

Quotes:

  • I didn’t write any down because I was too busy freaking the eff out about how crazy this book was.

My Thoughts: Man. I don’t even know where to start. Basically, for starters, here’s my reading log from this book:

asdfasfas

At first, I was livid because I’m really sick of misguided breastfeeding information in books. Especially popular, well-marketed books. However, I quickly forgot about that as I tore through this book. It was a trip from start to finish. I cried when Anne cried, I was furious when she was furious. I just wanted her to get little Cora back. When I first realized that Marco was behind it, I was like NO NO NO NO, but then the very next chapter confirmed it and I thought I was going to throw up. I was really rooting for him. But then, as it all started to fall into place, I sat in shock as I turned page after page and read how each person was involved in one way or another, while poor Anne sat by thinking she’d done something to her poor little baby. PPD is hard. I’ve been there. And to see it addressed in this way is actually a good thing, I think. It’s realistic.

As the book drew to a close, I wanted so bad to reach through my Kindle’s screen and punch Richard in the face. What a prick. I can’t believe someone would do that to their own grand daughter. And to leave her with a drug-dependent secretary? Not cool.

I would recommend this book over and over and over again. It’s amazing and incredible, and just wow.

[I’ve reached out to both the author and the publisher about the breastfeeding information, in hopes that later editions might omit misguided facts in order to avoid confusion for new or potential mothers]

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Shari Lapena

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena **CONTAINS SPOILERS**

  1. I’m still reading…. but I was annoyed at how they mentioned her manually expressing milk once and dumping it, but never talk about her maintaining her supply again.

    Most of the way done now….

Leave a Reply

