Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover **SPOILER FREE**

And, no, that’s not a spoiler because she’s Colleen fucking Hoover and the only thing she likes more than Diet Pepsi and her kids is breaking our hearts.

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): New adult; Romance

Note:  100% recommend going into this book blind, or as blind as possible since this book is everywhere. If you haven’t heard anything about this book yet, I highly recommend just picking it up and reading it. This review is spoiler-free (more or less just my other review with the spoilers taken out and some vague “her situation” thrown in there), but I feel that my experience of going in not knowing a single thing about the book made it that much better. If going in blind isn’t your thing, then this review is for you.

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most. Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place. As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price

Okay here we go.

Pros:

  • I couldn’t put this book down
  • Colleen did an amazing job writing about a very real, very sensitive subject
  • I actually felt like I was in this book
  • I cried. Books don’t make me cry.
  • Lily is my fave girl name
  • The side characters (avoiding names) are the perfect balance for Lily’s crazy life
  • There are too many things for a pro/con list, so just see my thoughts below

Cons:

  • I wanted to like Ryle, and I hate that
  • I hate Colleen for putting Lily through what she did

Quotes:

  • In this section, I normally put my favorite quotes. However, I feel like that’s considered spoilery, so I will not for the sake of a spoiler-free review. Just know that my spoiler review was basically plagiarism because I quoted like the entire book.

My Thoughts: As with my previous review, I will start with my reading log (page numbers and percentages blacked out for plot purposes) for this book. It sort of speaks for itself:

fasdfasdfdfasfadf

Good, now that I got that out of the way, I can attempt to form a comprehensible stream of words here. I keep typing out a reaction, and then highlighting and deleting it all. My words cannot do Colleen’s words justice. I have never, ever said this about a book before, but this. book. is. life. changing.

First of all, books don’t make me cry. I can think of maybe five books that have ever made me cry, like real sobs, and one of them was my book while I was writing it so it doesn’t even count. But this book is so fricking real. So when I say that the end of this book had me sobbing, I want you to understand the full meaning behind this statement.

And, no, that’s not a spoiler because she’s Colleen fucking Hoover and the only thing she likes more than Diet Pepsi and her kids is breaking our hearts.

I’ve waited for It Ends With Us basically since Colleen first announced it. As an avid CoHort, anything that Colleen writes automatically ends up on my shelf. I avoided reading anything about it as much as I could. I knew, going into it, that it was hard for her to write, and that something about cow poo happened. That’s it. I didn’t even read the back of the book. I wanted to be surprised.

But surprised isn’t the word I would use. Colleen took a taboo subject– a very real, very important taboo subject– and gave a very detailed version of it. She wanted to show her readers a very personal view of something that isn’t discussed nearly enough, and she did a great job at taking the subject and making an enjoyable (albiet heartbreaking) story out of it. And you know what? It worked. At first, I found myself hoping Lily’s situation would change. But after a while, I started to forget all of the good stuff and I could only focus on the bad.

I could feel Lily’s emotions deep in my chest. I hurt for her, I hated for her, I felt everything for her. There were points where this book made me feel physically ill and I had to step back and focus on something happy for a while. Through all of the twists and turns of her story, I felt as though it was a story about myself. It has been years since I was in the situation that Lily finds herself in. I was a teenager then, and I didn’t know how to deal with the situation. But the things Lily went through, in both childhood and adulthood, hit me like a ton of bricks. The happy moments were great, but the bad moments were overpowering.

And Colleen nailed that.

The resolution of Lily’s predicament is exactly what I wanted to read. Exactly how I’d hoped it would play out. I would have screamed and threw the book and bought a plane ticket to Colleen’s next signing so I could scream at her for writing the alternative.

This book was an eye-opening punch to the face. In her note from the author (don’t those read if you’re going in blind), Colleen addressed the fact that she knows not every situation is like this, but I feel like she did a really careful and thorough job conveying the message she was trying to convey. This was a hard subject to cover, and totally out of her element, and I’m proud of Colleen for stepping over a boundary to get this message out.

I feel like I say this about everything Colleen writes, but this book was nothing short of amazing. Honestly, it could be a list of gibberish on the back of a greasy fast food bag and I would still read anything she wrote/co-wrote/had an idea about once on the toilet. But this book is so much more than that.

I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Colleen. I feel like this book hits a major milestone for her as an author, and I’m so proud of her.

I would recommend this book again and again and again.

Read it, please.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

