Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): Young Adult

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

Pros:

  • I come from a HUGE family, and the Garretts are spot on chaos-wise
  • It was believable
  • I really felt for Samantha when she was being torn between her mother and Jase
  • The synopsis said there was an accident, but that was not what I expected
  • I had a lot of feels while reading this book; Jase and Samantha were cute
  • Each and every one of Jase’s siblings

Cons:

  • I hated Clay with a firey passion
  • So much negativity about breastfeeding
  • Nan is kind of a twat
  • Insta-love isn’t always the best

Quotes:

  • “His bed’s really comfortable. And he never pees in it.”
  • “I lie on top of him, skin to skin. He’s tall, I’m not, but when we lie like this, we fit together. All the curves of my body relax into the strength of his.”
  • “Feel sorry for anyone who thinks what they think is right should be some universal law”
  • “It is as if everything else in the world stops as we lie here in the summer night.”
  • “It’s like Tim’s drowning and they’re worried about the color of his swimsuit.”
  • “I nod, trying to swallow the barbed wire caught in my throat.”

My Thoughts: At first, this book really pissed me the eff off.When breastfeeding is portrayed negatively in pop culture, it sends a message to young people that it’s unnatural or gross or whatever. So that pissed me off. I was able to get past that, though, once I actually started getting into the plot.This book is a trip. It kind of started out slow, but then it was go, go, go and so many curveballs were thrown. I’m not a huge fan of insta-love, but I really loved Jase and Sam so I’m willing to overlook it in this case.

This book is all about making your own choices and doing what you feel is right, and I’m glad that I read it at an age where I’m able to understand all of this, even the mothers’ feelings.

I definitely recommend this book.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

