Book Review: The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Genre(s): Young Adult

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house. Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters. For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Pros:

  • I really loved Alice and I’m glad I got to see more of her
  • The two points of view were insanely different and I loved that
  • Cal and how his part of the story plays out
  • Tim going from “Tim, super effed up kid” to “Tim, finally matured-ish young adult”
  • I think the progression of Tim and Alice vs the progression of Jase and Sam says a lot about the characters
  • The guys from AA
  • How things turned out for the Garretts once they stood up to Grace
  • Other stuff that’s spoilery and I really wish I could say, I just really loved this book

Cons:

  • Hester can go to hell, for literally every single thing
  • Again with the breastfeeding?
  • I don’t really get Nan still?
  • It was slow and I was bored for about half the book

Quotes:

  • “I could always get by on a fake ID, calm face, and a smile. My sister could look guilty saying her prayers.”
  • “Tim Mason. The human equivalent of C-4.”
  • “Everyone who makes a mistake isn’t doomed to be an asshole forever.”
  • “I’ve been sober nearly two months, but I have yet to go cold turkey on assholicism.”
  • “Could this guy sound a little less like a fortune cookie on acid?”

My Thoughts: I’m usually iffy with sequels. Especially in the YA genre. But this was more of a companion than a sequel. Without giving anything about the plot away, this book threw me for a loop. The one thing that Tim really didn’t need in his life, he got. And in the eventual worst way. But this situation helped him see that life isn’t just about him, and that he is capable of being more than just “the boy most likely to”. On the other hand, while this was all happening, Alice learned that being the oldest daughter and the oldest sibling at home doesn’t mean taking on everything, and that’s big. There are a lot of life lessons this this book, and this is actually one that I wish I’d read when I was younger (the first book was the opposite). I’m glad this book had a happy ending and I kind of hope she doesn’t write another because it’s great the way she left it.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

