Book Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): Poetry

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] a poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

Pros:

  • It immediately grabbed my attention, like from page one
  • I like that I could see the transition of the different times in her life through her words
  • This book came to me when I really needed it
  • Books that are raw and honest are sometimes the best, and this isn’t an exception

Cons:

  • I don’t think there were any?

Quotes:

  • “silence has always been my loudest scream”
  • “sticks & stones never broke my bones, but words made me starve myself until you could see all of them.”
  • “no” is short for “fuck off.”  ”

My Thoughts: Alright, so I’m just going to copy and paste my goodreads review in this space because I wrote it the second I finished the book and I feel like it really shows how I felt about the book. Plus, I don’t know how I can properly review something so personal.

“It’s 12:30am. I’m up nursing the baby– for the third time since 11pm. I’m exhausted from a tiring day of shopping with two kids in tow. I’m emotionally drained from the reality that is being the child of an alcoholic. And I just remembered that I needed to run some laundry today and I didn’t, so Brent has to wear dirty pants to work. So naturally the best possible thing to do right now is impulse buy a book of poetry written by a girl I used to follow on Tumblr way back when.

It’s 12:50am. I’m in bed, with a baby on the boob, crying silently over these beautiful words. Sometimes, a piece of art shows itself to you when you need it the most. And oh my goodness, did this book do that.”

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Amanda Lovelace

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

Leave a Reply

