Thank you, thank you, thank you. 

These status updates are from a year ago.

I had just had a baby, I wasn’t sleeping more than an hour at a time, and I had to go back to work, 6-8 hours a day, 4-6 days a week. It was horrible and I was depressed. My helpless little baby was at home, unable to understand why she couldn’t just snuggle me when dad’s snuggles weren’t enough. Brent and I were stressed ALL the time because I hated working and he wasn’t particularly fond of the fact that Kaylee screamed every second she was away from me.

I was making minimum wage at a job I had been at for the better part of six years and we were still just barely breaking even. This continued even after Brent went back to work, except I worked random short nights and weekends, which was honestly even worse. 

Then Brent got his new job in February. The first thing he said after his interview was, “Put in your two weeks, you’re quitting.” And I knew that this would FINALLY be it. I would be done with Corner Bakery forever. But things were still tight. My tiny paychecks were JUST ENOUGH to get us through between his checks, and without them, we struggled. Not a lot, but enough to know that I needed to do SOMETHING. 

If you know me, you know I’m super against people who push Scentcy, It Works, etc. I think using your friends to sell overpriced products is shady, and that was NEVER an option for me. But I had to do something. 

Fast forward a couple of months. I wrote a short story and shared it with a friend. I don’t even remember who it was now. But this friend said something along the lines of “I would pay to read stuff like this”. And then I remembered that I supported another friend on Patreon, eagerly awaiting her posts every week. 
That’s when I realized– I could do what I love, and I could get paid to do it. 

It was a rough start at first. I had one supporter, and my effort felt really pdointless. So I took a break, refocused myself, and started up again over the summer. And I’m so glad that I did.

For the last four months, I’ve been able to write AND support my family. Obviously I don’t fully support us and things are still down to the last pennies in our budget, but when we need some gas or a gallon of milk or whatever, I don’t have to raid the piggy bank.

I wouldn’t be able to do this without the amazing people who support me. The ones who tell me to keep writing even when I feel like every word I type is stupid and pointless and makes no sense. The ones who tell me that they like my work, but are also not afraid to tell me when something needs work. 

You guys are truly amazing. Knowing that I have friends who are willing to help me get my writing career started, who look forward to my writing, who actually care about my characters… well it’s really special. 

I know I say this a lot, like at least once a week, but I am truly grateful for my supporters. You guys are the ones who keep me writing, who put gas in my tank, who take the stress off of being a stay at home mom. 

There aren’t words to express my gratitude. None. And I’m a writer and words are my thing. 

Thank you, thank you, thank you. 

I couldn’t do it without you. 

Note: Writing for Patreon has helped me through some tough times financially. If you are not currently a supporter but would like to become one or get more info, head over to Patreon.com/renae for more information!

Leave a Reply

