National Novel Writing Month 2016

Soooo because I obviously don’t value my sanity whatsoever, I’ve decided to take part in NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve never completed a full thirty days. I usually either give up around the 15th or forget to start and hop in somewhere in the middle. But this year, I have an outline, I have character bios, I have an idea that’s been floating around in my mind, AND I have the knowledge that I know I can finish a novel.

I’m going to try to read as many books as time will allow, but for the most part, my spare time will be spent in my word doc. I’ll also be writing my side projects for Patreon, since that is my only source of income so I have to keep up with it.

So, about my novel. It’s third person, jumping between past and present– past spanning over the course of about eight years and present spanning over the course of two days. It’s an adult thriller novel, something way out of my element, and the plot came to me in a dream.

Synopsis

Leilani Keene arrives at the home where she is a live-in nanny, only to find that something has gone terribly wrong. Lani has only ever known the Hawkins’ home and their upscale lifestyle, but it is clear that not everything is as it seems. Throughout the investigation in the home, Lani remembers moments and conversations that suggested that the Hawkins didn’t lead a charmed life. Lani’s main focus is to make sure the children are safe and happy, but as time goes on, it becomes clear that maybe she knows more than she’s letting on.

Excerpt

I didn’t always have secrets.

To me, secrets were lies, and lies complicated things. If you told one lie, you’d eventually have to tell another to cover it up. And then another, and another. Until suddenly you told so many lies that you actually started to believe them yourself.

So I tried to avoid lies and secrets.

Until my entire life became one big lie, an intricate web of secrets and facades.

By the time I realized what I’d gotten myself into, it was too late.

Following someone who’s participating in NaNo isn’t particularlary exhilarating, but I’ll be tweeting my updates, updating my author page, and updating my participant page as I make my way to 50k!

Here’s to November and here’s to crazy dreams turned into… well, crazy dreams!

3 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month 2016

  1. You seem well prepared, and your excerpt is excellent. You’ll surely have a successful NaNo this year. After completing the two past NaNoWriMo’s, I’m 90% sure I won’t be participating this year. I’ll sure miss the excitement, but I have two novels I need to focus on finishing.

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! I’m nervous, honestly. Even though it’s a contest against myself and it doesn’t REALLY matter. I usually have to give up because of parenting duties, but I’ve been working around the kids and it seems to be going alright. Or as alright as it can go with the unpredictability that is parenting. So, I’m just going to try to write a little every day and hope for the best!

  2. It’s definitely challenging to write around kids, work, etc. Writing first thing in the morning then getting out of the house to write later in the day made for my most productive NaNoWriMo’s. Well, best of luck. Your novel sounds like a winner.

Leave a Reply

