America, Why?

I sat in shock last night as I watched a man, with no political experience and a double digit list of sexual assault accusers, whose entire campaign was founded on racism and bigotry, whose behavior and words invalidate everyone who isn’t an able bodied white male, become president. I woke up this morning equally shocked.

I knew that this country was full of racist, bigoted white people. I knew it was full of ignorance. But I had no idea that it was this bad.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man who thinks all Muslims are bad.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man who thinks he can get away with sexual assault because he’s a rich white guy.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man who wants to deport every Latinx person in the country, even if they were born here.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man who thinks he has any business in my uterus.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man endorsed by the fucking KKK.

I hope you’re happy for electing the man who will not keep this country a safe place for our LGBTQ loved ones.

This has really been an eye opening experience. Instead of good triumphing over evil, evil has won, making me realize that I am not, by this election’s standards, an American. I do not believe in this country’s ideals any more. I do not feel safe in this country.

I do not believe in America.

And I’m heartbroken.

Leave a Reply

