Patreon Update!

“Why did you do that?” I asked as I poured a second glass, practically shouting in the deafening silence of the house. “Why? Now I have to start over. Again.”
“I didn’t like the way she nitpicked,” John said, peering over his glass. He hadn’t touched his wine, as usual. “There’s no way in hell I would be able to put up with that day in and day out.”
“You’ve got to learn to be more personable,” I said, throwing back the rest of my glass of wine. “Really, being less picky might do you some good.”

John stared at me, sadness heavy in his eyes. If he were anyone else, I would have reached out to touch his shoulder, anything to comfort him. But I’d learned that this was one of the many things that would just make things worse.
“Easy for you to say,” John said, standing up from his spot at the counter. “When you go home at the end of the day, you don’t have to deal with them.”
“At the rate we’re going, we’ll be at this forever,” I said as I picked at a stray thread on my pinstripe skirt. “Last week she was too noisy, the week before you didn’t like her laugh, and the week before that you said he gave you ‘the willies’. We’ve been at this for five years. Since the day you finally drove Jake and the kids away. Where do you draw the line? This is like trying to find a girlfriend for Chandler Bing.”
“I like what I like,” John replied, arms crossed. “You do have to take my feelings into consideration in all of this you know. This was your idea afterall.”

“I’m just doing my job,” I said, rolling my eyes. We’d had this argument week after week. No one was good enough for John. But I guess I couldn’t really blame him.

“Who says we have to pick anyone at all?” John asked with childlike defiance. “Can’t I just stay here alone? It’s my house. I don’t see why I need to share it.”
“You are going to be alone forever,” I said bluntly, shaking my head as I picked my keys up from the counter. “I’ll be back tomorrow. I need you to think long and hard about this, okay? We’ll find someone. I promise.”
“Fine,” John said, his grey mustache bristling as he pursed his wrinkled lips. “But you need to be a little more selective with who you bring around here. Forever’s a long time to not be alone also.”


Here’s an excerpt from the short story I just posted to Patreon! I’m hoping to get two more out before the end of the month, but realistically I’ll probably only finish one more just because the holidays are SO CRAZY.
If you enjoy my writing and would like to support me doing what I love to do, head over to patreon.com/renae and sign up! Patrons are charged at the beginning of the month for their pledge, and have access to all of my past writing, as well as anything I post while they are still an active supporter. A pledge can be a dollar or two, or more if you see fit, and every dollar helps! Usually it goes straight into my gas tank, but sometimes it buys me a new book or two if I can afford the indulgence.
Patreon is something I had always told myself I would never do, but I’m glad I took the chance and started posting my short stories. It allows me to do what I love and stay home with my littles while still contributing in some way, and it helps get feedback on writing that would otherwise sit on my hard drive, unread by anyone but myself. I am forever grateful for the handful of supporters I have, and for all of the feedback I receive, in comments and in private messages. You guys keep me going!

Leave a Reply

