Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover **SPOILER FREE**

My Rating: ★★★★★

Genre(s): New adult; contemporary romance

Plot: [Copied from Goodreads] Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies… That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried. Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever

Pros:

  • Dean. Fricking. Holder.
  • First kiss
  • The twist… and then the other twist
  • It hit me right in the feels
  • Colleen Hoover can do no wrong by me
  • I really loved Breckin like so so much
  • “Live”
  • Sky is a bookworm, and she rebels by baking sweets

Cons:

  • The truth about Sky’s past was so hard to read

Quotes [Only listing a few here because I loved the whole book]:

  • “Fuck all the firsts, Sky. The only thing that matters to me with you are the forevers.”
  • “I live you, Sky,” he says against my lips. “I live you so much.”
  • “Sometimes you have to choose between a bunch of wrong choices and no right ones. You just have to choose which wrong choices feels the least wrong.”
  • “Holder: “I thought Mormon’s weren’t allowed to have caffeine?”
    Breckin: “I decided to break that rule the morning I woke up gay.”
  • “I’m pretty sure my addiction to reading has just reached a whole new level.”

My Thoughts: I feel like it’s really pointless for me to review Colleen’s books because I just love her so much and can give her books nothing but praise… yet here I am, reviewing a Colleen Hoover book.

Hopeless was something special. Dean Holder is the ultimate book boyfriend. He’s romantic, he’s protective, he’s been through a whole hell of a lot so he understands how to react when people have troubled pasts, and he’s not afraid to say what’s on his mind. And Sky is awesome because she’s sheltered from being homeschooled but she’s also tough and can hold her own because she’s not stupid. Their connection is instant, and I was hooked right away too.

I enjoyed the way that Colleen added flashbacks every so often, giving away just a little more each time until I was like WAIT WAIT NO WHAT. She has a way of completely disconnecting the two until it’s absolutely necessary that the details overlap, and it shook me in a big way once I connected the dots completely.

It’s hard to write this review without spoiling the whole plot, so I’m going to keep it vague. This book surprised me. I had my suspicions based on aspects of Sky’s behavior, but my suspicions were like tiny hills compared to the roller coaster of plot twists that were thrown at me. I don’t cry when I read books, but I’m sure that this book would make me cry if I did. I had to set it down for a bit and come back because the emotions were just too much.

As always, I would hands down recommend this book. It’s possibly triggery, but it is such a great read and Dean Holder is seriously the hottest book boyfriend I’ve ever read.

Links:
Goodreads
Amazon
Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

